Vice-Chair for Preparedness and Secretary of the Interior and Local Government Eduardo M. Año,  Vice-Chair for Response and Acting Secretary for Social Welfare and Development Virginia N. Orogo, NEDA Undersecretary Jose Miguel R De La Rosa, Phivolcs Deputy Director Dr. Bartolome C. Baustista, NDRRMC Executive Director and Civil Defense Administrator Usec. Ricardo B Jalad, DOH Dir. Gloria J. Balboa, Province of Rizal Governor Rebecca “Nini” Ynares and San Mateo, Rizal Mayor Cristina C. Diaz pressed the ceremonial button at exactly 2 o’clock in the afternoon.


Residents of San Mateo, Rizal performed the duck, cover and hold right after hearing a loud 60-second siren signalling a magnitude 7.2 earthquake generated from the West Valley Fault affecting the Greater Metro Manila Area (GMMA). Various scenarios were performed, portraying the possible impacts of a strong earthquake based on the Metro Manila Earthquake Impact Reduction Study (MMEIRS). The scenarios involved the conduct of Rapid Damage Assessment and Needs Analysis, camp coordination and camp management, search rescue and retrieval, fire suppression, emergency medical response, chemical decontamination, and management of the dead and missing.


The 2nd quarter NSED has the objective to test the community preparedness efforts, synergize and synchronize efforts towards supporting the effective implementation of both the National and Regional Disaster Response Plan.


Local drills across the nation were documented in social media through the NSED 2018 campaign, Bida Ang Handa. The official hashtag, #BidaAngHanda trended online during the NSED-day.


In his message Usec. Eduardo M. Año made a call for communities throughout the country, to make resilience building a priority.  


“Ang indibidwal na paghahanda ay haligi ng isang komunidad na matatag sa banta ng kalamidad katulad ng isang malakas na lindol. Ating seryosohin at isa-puso ang mga pagsasanay katulad nito, upang tayo’y maging ligtas at mamuhay ng panatag,” says Usec. Año. 


OCD Office

Pilot Site

Region I

San Carlos City, Pangasinan

Region II

Isabela National High School, San Vicente, Ilagan City, Isabela

Region III

Baler, Aurora


Brgy. Sta Ana, San Mateo Rizal (Ceremonial Venue)


Barangay Cabacao, Abra de Ilog, Occidental Mindoro

Region V

Iriga City, Camarines Sur

Region VI

New Government Center Bacolod City, Negros Occidental

Region VII

Mactan Newtown in Lapulapu City, Cebu

Region VIII

Eastern Visayas Regional Medical Center, Cabaluan Tacloban City

Region IX

Zamboanga Sibugay National High School, Ipil, Zamboanga Sibugay Province

Region X

Tubod, Lanao Del Norte

Region XI

Mati City, Davao Oriental

Region XII

Municipality of Carmen


South Upi, Maguindanao


Adella Serra TY Medical Memorial Hospital (ASTMMH), Tandag, Surigao del Sur


Philippine School for the Deaf and Blind, Pasay City



Benguet National High School, La Trinidad, Benguet

La Trinidad Central School, La Trinindad, Benguet