The National Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council (NDRRMC) through the Regional DRRM Councils is holding the 1st Quarter Nationwide Simultaneous Earthquake Drill (NSED 2018) on 15 February 2018, 2PM. The ceremonial venue will be at Quezon City Memorial Circle, Quezon City.

Forming as the 26th Tropical Cyclone in the Philippines in 2017, TS Urduja (international name ‘Kai-tak’) formed as a tropical depression near Palau on 11 December 2017. Slowly intensifying, the system became a tropical storm on 14 December 2017. Due to its slow motion, TS Urduja made landfall in the vicinity of San Policarpo, Eastern Samar at 1300H on 16 December 2017, and traversed the Philippine Islands. It has caused flooding and landslides in the Provinces of Eastern Visayas. Tropical Cyclone Warning Signal 2 was raised in Northern Samar, Eastern Samar, Samar, Biliran, and Leyte; while TCWS 1 in Southern Leyte. (Sher Rysiah M Saises)

San Fernando City, La Union - As part of the agency’s commitment to DRRM, the Department of Public Works and Highways Region 1 (DPWH R1) organized a five-day Post-Disaster Needs Assessment (PDNA) training held on January 22-26, 2018 at Hotel Ariana, Paringao, Bauang. (Mike Aldrin T Sabado)

Legazpi City- On 18 January 2018, Regional Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council (RDRRMC) Bicol Chairperson and OCD V Regional Director Claudio L Yucot presented the updates on Mayon Volcano to Presidential Spokesperson Secretary Harry Roque, NDRRMC Executive Director and Civil Defense Administrator Usec Ricardo B. Jalad and DOST Usec Renato U Solidum, Jr. (Rachelle Anne L Miranda)