(31 October 2020)

The National Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council, its member agencies, and Regional DRRMCs met anew to discuss further updates on the track of Typhoon ROLLY and Tropical Depression (TD) ATSANI (international name), and the preparedness measures in place for these tropical cyclones.

TY ROLLY maintains its strength and is moving west-southwestward towards Bicol area, the Philippine Atmospheric, Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration (PAGASA) said. As of 1:00 p.m. today, TY ROLLY was spotted at 410 km East Northeast of Virac, Catanduanes which packs maximum sustained winds of 215 km/h and gustiness of up to 265 km/h.

TD ATSANI, meanwhile, which will be given the local name "SIONY" was monitored at 1,425 km east of Southern Luzon with maximum sustained winds of 55 km/h and gustiness of up to 70 km/h as of 10:00 a.m today. It may enter the Philippine Area of Responsibility tomorrow afternoon.

In the latest weather bulletin, TY ROLLY is forecast to cross the Catanduanes - mainland of Camarines provinces tomorrow morning and over mainland Quezon tomorrow afternoon.

Areas of Catanduanes, and Camarines provinces will experience violent winds and intense rainfall tomorrow morning until afternoon as well as Quezon and the southern portion of Aurora tomorrow afternoon up to evening. PAGASA reported that beginning tomorrow early morning, heavy to intense rains may be felt over Metro Manila, Bicol Region, CALABARZON, Central Luzon, Marinduque, and the northern portions Occidental Mindoro and Oriental Mindoro. Moderate to heavy rains will be experienced in Cagayan Valley, Cordillera Administrative Region, Ilocos Region, Romblon, and the rest of Mindoro provinces.

Flooding, rain-induced landslides, and lahar flow may occur during heavy or prolonged rainfall especially in areas that are highly susceptible.

RDRRMCs have started implementing preemptive evacuation and other preparedness measures. NDRRMC Executive Director Undersecretary Ricardo Jalad noted the need to strengthen the conduct of evacuation.

The Department of Education is also in-close coordination with Local Government Units for possible conversion of school facilities as evacuation centers.

RDRRMCs are continuously holding PDRA meetings, cascading warnings and have prepositioned resources in coordination with the Department of Social Welfare and Development.

Response assets of the Department of Public Works and Highways, Armed Forces of the Philippines, Philippine National Police, Bureau of Fire Protection, and Philippine Coast Guard have also been prepositioned.

TCWS No. 1 is currently raised in areas of Luzon including Masbate, Rizal, the rest of Laguna, Cavite, Batangas, Occidental Mindoro including Lubang Island, Oriental Mindoro, Metro Manila, Bulacan, Pampanga, Bataan, Zambales, Tarlac, Nueva Ecija, Aurora, Pangasinan, La Union, Benguet, Ifugao, Nueva Vizcaya, Quirino, and the southern portion of Isabela (Aurora, Luna, Reina Mercedes, Naguilian, Benito Soliven, San Mariano, Palanan, Dinapigue, San Guillermo, Echague, San Agustin, Jones, Cordon, Santiago City, Ramon, San Isidro, Angadanan, Alicia, Cauayan City, Cabatuan, San Mateo).

The same TCWS is also raised in the northern portion of Samar (Tagapul-An, Almagro, Santo Nino, Tarangnan, Catbalogan City, Calbayog City, Santa Margarita, Gandara, Pagsanghan, San Jorge, Jiabong, Motiong, Paranas, San Jose de Buan, Matuguinao), the northern portion of Eastern Samar (Taft, Can-Avid, Dolores, Maslog, Jipapad, Arteche, Oras, San Policarpo), and Biliran.

TCWS No. 2 is raised in the southeastern portion of Laguna (Santa Maria, Famy, Mabitac, Pakil, Siniloan, Pangil, Paete, Kalayaan, Lumban, Cavinti, Pagsanjan, Luisiana, Majayjay, Magdalena, Santa Cruz, Pila, Liliw, Nagcarlan, Rizal, Victoria, Calauan, San Pablo City, Alaminos, Bay), Quezon including Polillo Islands, Camarines Norte, the rest of Camarines Sur, the rest of Albay, Sorsogon, the northern portion of Masbate (Mobo, Milagros, Masbate City, Baleno, Aroroy, Mandaon, Balud) including Ticao and Burias Islands, Marinduque, and Romblon as well as the Northern Samar while TCWS No. 3 in Catanduanes, the northeastern portion of Camarines Sur (Tinambac, Siruma, Goa, Tigaon, Sagnay, San Jose, Lagonoy, Garchitorena, Presentacion, Caramoan, Sagnay), and the northeastern portion of Albay (Tiwi, Malinao, Tabaco City, Malilipot, Santo Domingo, Bacacay, Rapu-Rapu).

PAGASA said that the TCWS No. 4, the highest possible wind signal, might be raised for very destructive typhoon-force winds.

TCWS No. 3 and 4 might cause heavy damage to agriculture, storm surge above 3.0 meters at coastal areas, partial or total damage to houses, broken trees, power outages and communication services disruption.

PAGASA also warned the public on the storm surge and hazards affecting the coastal waters.

The NDRRMC is set to hold follow-up meetings for further updates and guidelines from national level down to local to strengthen preparedness and response strategies.